Canada, Mexico and the U.S. will host the 2026 World Cup

Canada, Mexico and the U.S. will host the 2026 World Cup

United States, Canada and Mexico have beaten Morocco in the bid to host the 2026 world cup tournament.

The ‘United 2026’ bid was selected by Fifa member nations ahead of Morocco’s bid as it got 134 votes compared to 65 for Morocco. The event will be the biggest 2026 World Cup ever held with 48 teams participating and playing 80 matches over 34 days.

“Football is the only victor. We are all united in football,” US Soccer president Carlos Cordeiro said.

“Thank you so, so much for this incredible honour. Thank you for entrusting us with this privilege.”

Of the 211 Fifa member nations, 200 cast a vote at the 68th Fifa Congress in Moscow on Wednesday, with the winning bid needing a majority of 104.

2026 World Cup

Canada, Mexico, Morocco and the US were exempt, while Ghana was absent after the country’s government said it had disbanded its football association amid allegations of “widespread” corruption.

Three US territories – Guam, the US Virgin Islands and Puerto Rico – were among the other member nations to not vote.

Mexico has hosted the event twice, first in 1970 and in 1986. The United States hosted for the first time in 1994 while Canada staged the Women’s World Cup in 2015.

Follow @kemifilaniblog

Kim Kardashian slams critics of her husband, Kanye West, over Donald Trump tweets



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.